Pizza for my Tummy

Every once in a while my tummy talks to me.  It has a low rumbly voice and it words are long and drawn out.  It will tell me it it wants nourishment, it will tell me it does not like what I put in it (not one bit) or, on rare occasions, it will ask for something specific.  Yesterday it asked for pizza.  There I was, sitting on the couch plodding my way though my accounting homework, when this voice percolated up from the depths of my insides, with only one word, “Piiiiiiiizzzzzzzaaaaaaaaaa”.  I tried to ignore it, tried to focus on credits and debits, adjusting entries and bank reconciliations, but that voice would not stand to be ignored. “Piiiiiiizzzzzzzzzzaaaaaaaaaaa!” it roared, until I could not ignore it any longer.  Into the kitchen I went and began to prepare pizza.  Zucchini, tomato and cheesy corn pizza.

Satisfied Tummy?  (and it was.)

Now because my tummy was so damn insistent I didn’t have time to wait for a full fledged pizza dough so I used the ‘Quick and Easy Pizza Dough’ from allrecipes.com.  I was pleasantly surprised with it and would recommend it to anyone else who has a very pushy tummy that won’t wait for proofing times…

For the toppings I took some fresh corn kernels, cut from the cob,  and mixed them with some diced garlic, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese and some sal and pepper to taste.  Spead that on the dough as your base, then drop dabs of tomato sauce over that.  I then thinly sliced some zucchini and tomatos and layered that over the tomato sauce, topped that with as much cheese as I pleased and baked!  I recommend using a baking stone if you have it, it makes for quite the yummiest of pizza experiences, and bake on high, 425-450 degrees until crust browns and cheese bubbles and darkens.

Then over the lips and through the gums, lookout tummy….here it comes!

Leave a Reply

